Share a Good Story: Pay it Forward

powder-snow in the rockiesRecently, I suffered a loss that left me feeling blue until the night my neighbor, a jovial man, stopped me in the yard. He was eager to talk and told me a heart-warming tale that I’d like to share. It goes like this.

The Little Bear

I was at the Little Bear, you know, that rustic tavern in the Colorado Rockies that everybody’s been to at least once? Even Wille Nelson’s made a few surprise visits. I was there years ago when I was in my twenties. It was January. The snow was falling. The fire was crackling in the fireplace. You get the picture?

I looked across the bar and  saw the most beautiful women I have ever seen. I mean, I got this big  smile on my face, so big I could almost feel it stretching up to my ears. I couldn’t stop grinning. I couldn’t stop looking at her.

She saw me, walked over and said, “I see you’re in love.”

I told her, yes, I was in love and she said, “So am I.”

We had a wonderful relationship for some time. But I was to young, to immature, to make it last.

Yet to this day I can still  see her smiling, and I wish her all the happiness and love in the world. I know she is somewhere, happy and content, because that is who she is and I am blessed for having known her. 

He was smiling from ear to ear and I could feel what he was feeling. So share your good stories because you never know whose heart you might heal.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Share a Good Story: Pay it Forward”

  1. So good! Such self-awareness… Such gentleness about past & present… And acceptance… His garden is big enough to let others grow in the same space, even if not in the same way… Thanks, Karin, for this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your welcome. He reminded me that if you love someone, you love them for who they are, not how they make you feel or what they do for you. – I had forgotten that for a while – its hard to think out my own head sometimes, and see others. Looking forward to your next class.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

